top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHaley

Letters to Myself

Younger Self

Dear younger me,

I am now 18, and I’m now a senior in highschool. If there’s one thing that I want to tell you, I want to tell you to not slack off during school. Seriously, don’t. I’m now in a state of regret and guilt because of slacking off during our first sophomore year. I could have been graduated by now! Also, don’t skip your freshmen class exams. Bad. Idea. I’m now taking online classes galore in a rush to finish them before graduation day comes, otherwise I can’t graduate.

I have more advice for you. Don’t be STUPID. I learned from our very personal mistakes, which you may or may not end up finding out about later, (which I hope you don’t) and I hope that it’ll help you in your (possible) near future. I guess that’s kinda like the first thing I mentioned, but I feel that it’s important for us to know.

Next, make sure you tell the truth when you need to tell it. You’ll get stuck in a relationship with someone you don’t even like if you don’t, because of peer pressure, and then feel bad when they give you gifts for Valentine’s Day.

Make sure to cherish the friends and memories you have while you have them. I’ve learned a lot, and one thing I learned was to never take your loved ones or friends for granted. Make sure you spend as much time with them as possible. When you get your second boyfriend in middle school (one that you’ll actually have feelings for this time), you may be scared to show affection with him because it’s so new to you and you’re afraid of what people may say to you, but don’t be afraid. Hold his hand in the hallways and tell him you love him and kiss him after he’s given you your first kiss. If you don’t, you’ll regret it like I did. He was the first one to treat you like an actual girlfriend.

Keep in touch with your friends. If things don’t go well you’ll end up switching from Perry to Bath like we did on our second sophomore year. We didn’t talk to any of our old friends and we ended up losing touch and then we met them again later at the park that’s close to all of us.

I know you might not understand half of the things that I’m writing to you, but trust me, you will thank me later once you read through this letter and start being able to understand what things mean. Keep this letter for as long as you can and when you get to be 18 like we are now, you seriously will thank me later.

Sincerely,

18-year-old you… well, me. Us.


Older Self

Dear older me,

Right now we are 18, and a senior in highschool. We’ve made some really cool and fun memories over the years. I want to write down a list of what exactly you should remember from however long ago this was written. There’s seriously been a lot of things that were exciting and fun that have to be remembered and aren’t worth forgetting.

Remember our senior trip to Boyne Mountain? That was really fun. Make sure you remember going to the pool, and the spa pool, and make sure you remember going to the waterpark, trying to go tubing but it got closed because of dangerous conditions so your friend made a documentary of us instead, and make sure you remember going to the arcade not once, but twice, and the second time you went you got hit in the head with a basketball by one of the foreign exchange students, and remember laughing it off as well.

Don’t forget all the fun memories that you made in band as well. That was our favorite hour. The band camp trip you went on in Freshman year, the other excruciatingly hot band camps, meeting new faces, playing music on our clarinet loudly but proudly, and marching in cool patterns. The concerts, and the days sitting next to our best friend, Katelyn.

Don’t forget her, either. She was your best friend and had your back through thick and thin… she may still have your back now. She was the strangest and weirdest girl you had ever met, and sometimes the things she said would startle you or worry you or even annoy you, but you still loved her. Maybe you still feel that way. Right now she wants to go into mechanics, or something related to that. Is she a mechanic now? Anyway, you could never have a better friend than her, even if you could barely have serious conversations with her and sometimes (more like all the time) distract you during band. We made fun memories together with her. Don’t forget them!

Don’t forget your precious cats. Pebbles, Noodle, and Stormy. They’re the ones who love us most. Hopefully you still have them all and that Stormy is a full grown cat by now.

There’s one more thing I want you to remember. Remember your morals. Treat others the way you want to be treated. That was our #1 motto for life and hopefully it still is! Remember your senior quote. “Music exists to help us speak the words we can’t express.” Hopefully by now you have a job with something music related, so this quote would mean the same to you as it does to me now.

Sincerely,

18-year-old you… well, me. Us.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Short Story

It was just another boring old day of middle school. I had just finished my trip to my locker, as red as a cherry. I walked up and down the crowded, small, and loud hallways, just trying to avoid runn

ISO #13 - Portrait of the Reader

“A woman has got to love a bad man once or twice in her life, to be thankful for a good one.” —Marjorie Kinnan Every single day was a constant battle between me, myself, and I, The reason being that I

ISO #10 - On A Night of Snow

Cat, if you go outdoors you will catch fleas and ticks. You will come back all wet and damp, and probably cold, and you will risk having kittens I have to hold. Stay inside, my Cat. Clean yourself, as

bottom of page