top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHaley

Analysis Essay #5 - Plot

In the writing, “Plot” by Anne Lamott, she states that you should depend on the characters to make your plot, as the development of the characters will help make the plot as well. “I say don’t worry about plot. Worry about the characters. Let what they say or do reveal who they are, and be involved in their live, and keep asking yourself, Now what happens? The development of relationship creates plot.” Her main point is to focus on character.

Anne Lamott, at first, is straightforward and to-the-point about her ideas. She just explains them in detail and explains why they’re good to make a habit. After some more time into the writing, she starts throwing in some funny jokes here and there. She also adds in some of her own habits or ways of living into her writing as well. She references to other authors that she believes used her ideas well to take advantage of the evidence for her point that she brought up.

I personally already use this idea. I barely focus on the plot and just tend to write out how the characters are, how they act in certain situations, and what happens to them over time. I think it’s a very fun way to write and it doesn’t limit you to keeping your characters involved to the idea of the plot. Plot can be important to write about, but I love this writing because Anne Lamott doesn’t think that you have to focus so much on it.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Short Story

It was just another boring old day of middle school. I had just finished my trip to my locker, as red as a cherry. I walked up and down the crowded, small, and loud hallways, just trying to avoid runn

ISO #13 - Portrait of the Reader

“A woman has got to love a bad man once or twice in her life, to be thankful for a good one.” —Marjorie Kinnan Every single day was a constant battle between me, myself, and I, The reason being that I

ISO #10 - On A Night of Snow

Cat, if you go outdoors you will catch fleas and ticks. You will come back all wet and damp, and probably cold, and you will risk having kittens I have to hold. Stay inside, my Cat. Clean yourself, as

bottom of page